City Council New Orleans Louisiana
Home Meet The Council Council News Council Calendars Resources Districts & Maps Video Emergencies

Kristin Gisleson Palmer: Councilmember District "C"

New Orleans City Council Kristin Palmer

Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer is a leading advocate for the revitalization of New Orleans by investing in all of our culturally diverse neighborhoods. As the former Executive Director of Rebuilding Together New Orleans, she has assisted numerous elderly, disabled, and low-income residents return to their homes post-Katrina. After accumulating over twenty years' experience as a non-profit administrator, she was elected to represent New Orleans City Council District "C".

Her top initiatives include regionalism within the transportation sector, expansion of streetcar lines, and increasing the number of bike paths throughout the City. She is a strong advocate for improving the quality of life of all of our residents and has been a champion for blight reduction and economic development. She has been selected to participate in prestigious fellowship programs including the inaugural Smart Growth America Local Leaders Council as an Advisory Board member, the Aspen Institute's Rodel Fellowship Program, the New Orleans Regional Leadership Institute (NORLI), and the national network of NewDEAL Leaders. She received the National Trust for Historic Preservation Award in 2009 and was recognized with a City Business Women of the Year Award in 2007. In 2013, she was elected to serve as the first chairperson of the Louisiana Intrastate Rail Compact and was recognized as Legislator of the Year by the Alliance for Good Government.

>> View complete biography

>> View photo & video archive

Committee Memberships
  • To access constituent resources and maps relative to District "C" please click here.

Social Media Links
The New Orleans City Council is not responsible for the content on the following links.

<< Back to Meet The Council


City Hall, Room 2W70
1300 Perdido Street
New Orleans, LA 70112

Phone: (504) 658-1030
Fax: (504) 658-1037


Council Staff:

Deborah Langhoff, Chief of Staff

Alex Chasick, Legislative Director

Mary Cunningham, Director, Constituent Services

Ron Loesel, Director of Special Projects

Tia M. Vice, Director of Communications and Scheduling

Join Our Email List

Join our Email List Legal & Privacy InformationSubmit Comments HereSite Map

Information presented by the New Orleans City CouncilEvelyn F. Pugh, Interim Chief of StaffCouncil Information (504) 658-1000Clerk of Council (504) 658-1085
New Orleans City Council | 1300 Perdido Street, Second Floor West | New Orleans, LA 70112

Translate this site: