City Council New Orleans Louisiana
Home Meet The Council Council News Council Calendars Resources Districts & Maps Video Emergencies


Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Advisory Committee

As Chair of the Council's Transportation and Airport Committee, Council Councilmember Jared C. Brossett drafted an ordinance to create the Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Advisory Committee (PBSAC) because the City of New Orleans needs a balanced transportation network that includes strategic enhancements to provide safer, more convenient travel for all roadway users including bicyclists, pedestrians, public transit users, children, seniors and persons with disabilities.

The PBSAC is a citizen advisory committee established for a one year term as a forum for open communication and information exchange between the City Council, city departments and agencies, public transit providers, community advocates, and citizens regarding safe walking and bicycling practices. The Committee will also present relevant findings to the City Council's Transportation and Airport Committee at the end of its term.

Members of the Committee must hold a meeting at least once per quarter to receive input from the public and discuss the best practices and standards that foster a bicycling and walking environment that is safe, inviting, and convenient for active transportation and recreation in New Orleans.

Committee Members

The PBSAC is made up of seven City Council appointees; one Mayoral appointee; and one representative from the Department of Public Works, the City Planning Commission, the Health Department, the Human Relations Commission, and the Regional Transit Authority. Each of the following members is serving a one year term on a volunteer basis.

  • At Large "A" Appointee - Vacant
  • At Large "B" Appointee - Marin Tockman, Secretary
  • District "A" Appointee - Vacant
  • District "B" Appointee - Tara Tolford
  • District "C" Appointee - Vacant
  • District "D" Appointee - Karen Parsons, Chair
  • District "E" Appointee - Vacant
  • Mayoral Appointee - Dwight Norton
  • City Planning Commission Representative - Stosh Kozlowski
  • Department of Health Representative - Chris Gunther
  • Department of Public Works Representative - Louis Haywood
  • Regional Transit Authority Representative - Shulond S. Myer
  • ADA Administrator - Page McCranie

Upcoming Meetings

Meeting Minutes

Enabling Legislation


<< Back to Committees


Join our Email List Legal & Privacy InformationSubmit Comments HereSite Map

Information presented by the New Orleans City CouncilDavid S. Gavlinski, Chief of StaffCouncil Information (504) 658-1000Clerk of Council (504) 658-1085
New Orleans City Council | 1300 Perdido Street, Second Floor West | New Orleans, LA 70112

Translate this site: